The Shaman’s Charm (New York)

This is from my recent trip to the American Museum of Natural History, in New York. The photo is a bit blurred, but the light in that gallery is too low for my point and shoot. It was made by the Tlingits, a Native American tribe from the Northwest. I am not sure of its meaning, besides it being a shaman’s charm. It reminded me immediately of the carving on the sarcophagus of the Mayan ruler Pakal the Great. Pakal is shown there riding some sort of serpent (not a spaceship, as some crazy lunatics eccentric anthropologists love to think):

(this is a picture I took from http://www.bibliotecapleyades.net, so it is not mine)

The purpose of that trip to New York (and then New Jersey) was to visit my good friend C and his family. Since he loves to read articles on cognitive psychology we spent some time talking about that. C was talking about the Asch experiment:

I for my part remembered the very amusing concept of misattribution of arousal:

We then went on and on about change blindness and inattentional blindness, but I don’t want to post video after video here. At night we had clams with wine, and afterwards, to end the day properly, a glass of 32 yr old Macallan, to the memory of those old serpent riders (ride the snake, ride the snake. To the lake, the ancient lake)

Leave a Reply

